Press Herald/Telegram wins seven NEAPNEA awards

   The Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram has won seven awards in the 2010 New England Associated Press News Executives Association contest.
   Newspapers from across New England competed in the annual contest in circulation-based categories.
   The Portland newspapers were in Class 1 – for newspapers whose circulation exceeds 40,000. The contest covered the year from April 1, 2009, through March 31, 2010.
   “I’m obviously thrilled for the people who won awards, but I’m also delighted for their editors and colleagues,” said Scott Wasser, the papers’ executive editor. “The editors create an environment where creative and award-winning work such as this can be produced, and their co-workers create a collaborative atmosphere that nurtures this kind of work.”
   Here are the awards won by the Press Herald/Telegram:
   • Second place for best overall website.
   • First place for best feature photo: John Ewing.
   • First place design award for best informational graphic: Michael Fisher.
   • Third place design award for best informational graphic: Jeff Woodbury.
   • Third place for best sports page: Sally Tyrrell.
   • Second place for best arts and entertainment writing: Bob Keyes. (Click the link above to read the story, “Jamie Wyeth stands alone.”)
   • First place for best headline: Brian Robitaille.
   The association will soon name winners in additional categories. The awards will be presented Sept. 10 at the association’s fall conference at the Radisson Hotel & Suites, Chelmsford, Mass.