MPA Hall of Fame

The Maine Press Association Hall of Fame honors newspaper people with Maine connections who have made outstanding contributions to the profession. Here are its members. (* inducted posthumously):

Inducted 2023

James McCarthy

Longtime Maine newspaperman

Ken Waltz

Longstanding sportswriter, photographer and editor 


Inducted 2022

Earl Brechlin 

Longtime distinguished journalist at The Bar Harbor Times & Mount Desert Islander.

Chris & Paula Roberts

Chris is a fourth-generation owner and publisher of The Lincoln County News owner and Paula is the paper’s sports reporter and photographer since 1993.

Inducted 2021

Dot Roderick*

Dot was one of the first women advertising executives in the newspaper industry.

Dieter Bradbury

Recently retired from the Portland Press Herald, Dieter has been a force in Maine journalism for more than four decades.

Judy Meyer

Executive editor for Sun Journal, Kennebec Journal and Morning Sentinel and a fierce advocate for First Amendment rights,


Inducted 2020

Terry Carlisle

Terry spent 42 years at The Ellsworth American serving in key management positions.

Arthur Guesman*

Faculty advisor of the Maine Campus newspaper and a professor of journalism at the University of Maine for 20 years.

Inducted 2019

Stephen Fay

Managing editor of The Ellsworth American for 23 years.

Marian McCue

Longtime publisher and former editor of The Forecaster.

Christopher Cousins*

Statehouse reporter for the Bangor Daily News.


Inducted 2018

Nat Barrows

Owner, publisher and editor of Penobscot Bay Press.

Winifred French

Founder (and reporter, editor, publisher and distributor) of The Quoddy Tides.

Kathryn Olmstead

Writer, editor, and publisher affiliated with Maine journalism since the late 1970s.

Inducted 2017

Alan Baker

Longtime owner and publisher, The Ellsworth American and Mount Desert Islander.

Mark Woodward

Executive editor and editorial page editor, Bangor Daily News.

Inducted 2016

Hugh Bowden

Executive Editor, The Ellsworth American.

Rex Rhoades

Executive Editor, Lewiston Sun Journal

Steve Solloway

Sports Columnist,
Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram

Inducted 2015

Bob Kalish
Bob Kalish





Writer for national and local publications, including The Times Record

Bill Nemitz
Bill Nemitz





Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram

Lou Ureneck
Lou Ureneck






Executive Editor
Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Evening Express

Inducted 2014

Robert Crocker, Associated Press state house reporter

Richard Dudman
Richard Dudman






St. Louis Post Dispatch correspondent and Bangor Daily News editorial writer

Inducted 2013

Don Hansen
Editorial Page Editor
Portland Press Herald, Maine Sunday Telegram, Evening Express

Scott Haskell

Scott Haskell
Photographer and Photo Editor
Bangor Daily News

Emery “Legs” Labbe

Sportswriter and Publisher,
St. John Valley Times

Inducted 2012

Mary Brewer

Mary Brewer, managing editor,
Boothbay Register/Wiscasset Newspaper

Ann McGowan

Managing editor, Morning Sentinel


Inducted 2011

Beurmond Banville
Beurmond Banville







Reporter, Bangor Daily News

*David Bourque, sports editor, Brunswick Times Record

Seba Smith
Seba Smith





Inducted 2010

Bill Clark

Guy Gannett newspapers

Bob DeLong

Bangor Daily News

Don Levesque                Publisher, St. John Valley Times

Inducted 2009

Jim Costello Sr.

Publisher, Sun Media Group

Bob Diebold
Bob Diebold





Editor, The Penobscot Times

*Clayton LaVerdiere, columnist and reporter, Central Maine Morning Sentinel
*John K. Murphy, executive editor, Portland Press Herald


Inducted 2008

Robert Beith

*Robert B. Beith, editor, publisher,
Guy Gannett newspapers

Jim Brunelle

Political reporter, columnist and commentator

* Campbell Niven

Publisher, The Times Record

Polly Ouimet

Inducted 2007

Bill Caldwell

Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram

Ted Sylvester

Rockland bureau chief
Bangor Daily News

* Peter Damborg

State House reporter,
Guy Gannett newspapers

Robert Moorehead

General Manager,
Morning Sentinel

Inducted 2006

Dwight E. Sargent

Editorial Page Writer and eEditor,
Curator of the Nieman Foundation

Bob Saunders

Editor and Reporter,
Journal Tribune

* Sheila Tenggren,

Editor and Publisher,
Lincoln News

Inducted 2005

Raymond E. Gross
Editor and Publisher, The Courier-Gazette

Lillis Towle Jordan
* Lillis Towle Jordan






Publisher, Bangor Daily News

David Lamb
David Lamb





National and Foreign Correspondent, Los Angeles Times

Steve Riley
Steve Riley





A. Stephen Riley, editor and reporter, Guy Gannett newspapers,
MPA executive secretary

Inducted 2004

Dick Doyle

Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram

Jack Faulkner

Northeast Publishing

Kent Ward
Kent Ward

Reporter, editor, columnist,
  Bangor Daily News

* Wayne Jordan

University of Maine
Journalism Department


 Inducted 2003

* Davis Rawson

Political Reporter
and Editorial Writer

Jerry Durnbaugh

Owner, Blue Hill Weekly Packet

* Daniel Dexter

Editor and Editorial Writer,
Lewiston Journal

Douglas E. Kneeland,

Reporter and editor,
The New York Times

Inducted 2002

Bill Langzettel
*Bill Langzettel






The Associated Press Correspondent

Donald Larrabee
Donald Larrabee






Don Larrabee, Congressional Correspondent

Bob Drake

Robert G. “Bob” Drake, editor,
Kennebec Journal and Morning Sentinel

Sam and Abbie Roberts
Sam and Abbie Roberts






Owners, The Lincoln County News

Inducted 2001

Walter Mattson
Walter Mattson






President, The New York Times Co.

Alexander "Sandy" Brook
Alexander “Sandy” Brook






Owner, York County Coast Star

May Craig
*May Craig






Washington correspondent, 
Portland Press Herald

Barbara Yeaton
Barbara Yeaton







Sun Journal and The Franklin Journal


Inducted 2000

Ralph "Bud" Leavitt
*Ralph “Bud” Leavitt






Outdoor writer, editor,
Bangor Daily News

Elijah Lovejoy
*Elijah Lovejoy






Abolitionist editor
from Albion, Maine

John Cole

John Cole

Peter Cox

Peter Cox and John Cole,
founders, Maine Times

Inducted 1999

Henry Shorey
Henry Shorey
Eula Shorey
Eula Shorey





The Bridgton News

Harry Foote
Harry Foote






Owner and editor,
American Journal

Gene Letourneau
*Gene Letourneau






Outdoor columnist, Guy Gannett newspapers

Inducted 1998

J. Russell Wiggins
J. Russell Wiggins







Owner and publisher,
The Ellsworth American

John Gould
John Gould






Christian Science Monitor

Guy P. Gannett

*Guy P. Gannett, founder,
Gannett newspapers

Erwin Canham
*Erwin Canham, editor,






Christian Science Monitor

Brooks Hamilton
*Brooks Hamilton






University of Maine
Journalism Department head