Deadline nears for MPA individual awards, Hall of Fame

Don’t forget the June 10 mailing deadline for MPA individual award nominations. These include the Bob Drake Young Writer’s Award, Advertising Salesperson of the Year, Circulation Person of the Year, Freedom of Information (daily/weekend and combined weekly). Please note Bob Drake award nominees must have less than two years of experience as of July 2010.

Nominations should be sent to Maine Press Association, MPA Awards, 1079 River Road, Buxton, ME 04093.

Nominations also are being taken for 2011 inductees to the Maine Press Association Hall of Fame. The deadline for nominations also is June 10. Candidates must be Maine newspaper professionals who have made lasting career contributions to their craft, in or out of the state. Typically, some of each year’s Hall of Fame class is inducted posthumously. A total of 52 journalists have been inducted since the Hall of Fame was established in 1998.

The MPA’s Hall of Fame Committee asks that names be submitted as soon as possible so they can be circulated among the committee members who will select the inductees. Each nomination should be accompanied by supporting material that will help committee members as they make their decisions.

Nominations can be sent to the committee chair, Bob Caswell, at, or USM Public Affairs, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04014. If you have questions, please call 780-4200.